Austin Under 40 Awards hint at who will lead us next

Each year, the Austin Under 40 Awards tell us whom to watch. Who will make a difference in our city? Who will lead their fields into the next decades?

The AU40 ceremony, chaired this year by Bre Brown and Hal Williams, is slated for May 18 at the JW Marriott Hotel. The event benefits the charitable works of the Young Women’s Alliance and the Young Men’s Business League.

Yet just this list of finalists gives one a preview of future civic captions.

Take for instance the Mentor of the Year Award, previously won by Kendra Scott, Andy Roddick and Dan Graham. This year’s finalists compete to follow in their footsteps.

Alexis Adauto Ferguson, president of the Austin Advertising Federation at 26 and a board member of the Hispanic Women’s Network of Texas

Gayle Reaume, founder and CEO of Moolah U, an organization created to inspire young people to establish habits that build a life of financial stability and independence.

Jesse Bush Butler, a lawyer at Hajjar Peters, LLP

Sandra Spalding, Director of Marketing & Community for Twin Liquors

Robin Emmerich, a life coach and artist

Other 2019 Finalists

Architecture, Engineering and Construction

Katie Coyne

Ashley Wainscott

Kim Power

Megan Lasch

Ricardo J. Maga Rojas

Arts and Entertainment

Chet Garner

Cassandra King Polidori

Quinton Weathers

Tarik Daniels

Danielle Benson

Civics, Government and Public Affairs

Justin Murrill*

UPDATE: Previous winner Jose Beceiro was mistakenly listed by AU40 in this position in its press release.

Ellen Troxclair

Christopher Rios

Jo Cassandra Cuevas

Dana Harris

Culinary Arts, Events and Hospitality

John Antonelli

Kendall Antonelli

Lisa Hickey

Anthony Sobotik

Mariam Parker

Energy, Mobility and Transportation

Sam Sargent

Jennifer Duthie

Mica Crouse

Suzanne Russo

Jonathon Blackburn

Financial and Insurance Services

Stephen Jeffrey

Chris Ragland

Kelley Rytlewski

Kerri Swope

Donald Park

Innovation and Start-up

Erin Mays

Ruben Cantu

Jamie Chandlee

Brooke Waupsh

Naomi Bourgeois

Journalism, Marketing and Public Relations

Emily Ramshaw

Meghan E. Butler

Harold Hardaway

Hema Mullur

Jessica Scanlon


Kate Lincoln-Goldfinch

Betsy Peticolas

Caitlin Haney Johnston

Elizabeth Henneke

Danielle Ahlrich

Medicine and Healthcare

John Faught

Dr. Saya Obayan

Divya M. Varu

Sean Paul

Pritesh Gandhi

Nonprofit Service

Mimi Marziani

Meme Styles

Cristina Tzintzún Ramirez

Derrick Lesnau

Mike Thompson

Real Estate

Brittany Morrison

Paul Smith

Drew Griffin

Lockie Ealy

Salma Manzur

Sports, Wellness and Fitness

Courtney Clark

Gloria Chan

Curtis Eggemeyer

Chi Chi Randolph

Aron Bautista


Jason Ballard

Ryan Collins

Kurt Rathmann

Jeff Schmalbach

Caitlin Hudon

Youth and Education

Ricardo Zavala

Jennifer Garcia

Dr. Larry Wallace Jr.

Larry Chauvin

Anneliese Tanner


Read on: Austin American Statesmen